ISO 45001

Occupational Health and
Safety Management

iso 45001 health and safety

What is ISO 45001 OHSMS?

iso 45001 certificate
ISO 45001 is an international standard that specifies requirements for an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system. It provides a framework for organizations to manage risks and improve OH&S performance.

The standard establishes criteria for an OH&S policy, objectives, planning, implementation, operation, auditing and review. Key elements include leadership commitment, worker participation, hazard identification and risk assessment, legal and regulatory compliance, emergency planning, incident investigation and continual improvement.

ISO 45001 utilizes the Plan-Do-Check-Act methodology to systematically manage health and safety risks. It applies to organizations of all sizes and can be integrated with other ISO management system standards.

Why is ISO 45001 OHSMS important?

The responsibilities of the management team are set out by this international standard. It requires management to be efficient in every step of its safety planning and provide a system tailored to your business in order to target particularly high risk areas of your organisation in order to minimise them in the future. It also ensures worker participation and empowerment in their own security.

ISO 45001 standard builds your credibility by demonstrating that your business follows a standardised occupational health and safety management system.

Contact us to find out more about Sustainable Certification

The ISO 45001 Benefits

Some of the key benefits of the ISO 45001 standard include:


Maintain a safer and healthier work environment:

Implementing the ISO 45001 standard helps reduce overall accidents and injuries at your workplace, contributing to a safer and healthier environment.


Decrease downtime:

Ill and injured employees decrease productivity levels. The ISO 45001 standard is aimed at safety, ensuring that all your employees will work in a safe environment, therefore reducing downtime.


Decrease costs:

Implementing this standard can protect your business from legal actions and minimise the possibility of fines. Additionally, it may allow you to negotiate lower insurance premiums.


Demonstrate your commitment to safety:

Implementing the ISO 45001 standard shows that you are committed to protecting the safety of your employees.


Boost employee morale:

Workers are happier when they have a safe and healthy workplace. With the implementation of this standard, it has been consistently proven that the workforce delivers a better performance due to improved morale.


Earn credibility:

The ISO 45001 standard builds your credibility by demonstrating that your business follows a standardised occupational health and safety management system.

Request a quote

Find out how much ISO 45001 certification could cost your business.

The ISO 45001 Accreditation Process

Step 01


Once you have decided to pursue ISO 45001, the first step is to choose your certification body. There are many to choose from. You may find it helpful to establish a list of criteria that are important in your certification partner. Some criteria to consider; Is the certification body fully Australian-owned? Are they friendly, responsive, flexible and provide value-added service?

Step 02


If you are unsure whether your system meets the requirements of the standard, you can request a review of your existing management systems. One of our auditors will evaluate your system against the standard and will provide you with a report to assist you with fixing gaps before proceeding to Stage 1 Audit.

Step 03


A review of your management system(s), where documentation is against the standard, is undertaken. This is the first step in the certification process.

Step 04


The Certification Audit is conducted on-site to verify you have effectively implemented your own management system across your organisation. If implementation is completed satisfactorily, your organisation will be certified by our auditor.

Step 05


We will conduct a Surveillance Audit at least once every 12 months to ensure the ongoing implementation of management systems across your organisation.

Step 06


The certification cycle starts again with a stage 1 and stage 2 audits.

ISO 45001 Client Self Assessment Checklist


What is ISO 45001?

ISO 45001 is the first internationally released ISO Standard for Occupational Health and Safety Systems. It is a relatively new standard, released in March 2018.

ISO 45001:2018 outlines the requirements for your organisation to develop efficient safety systems .  it shows interested parties and stakeholders your organisation is committed to the safety of workers and providing a safe work environment. It is an important sign of your business capability to reduce costs through preventing workplace injury and illness

Why do I need ISO 45001 Certification?

  • Assists with improving your processes of managing your regulatory and compliance requirements
  • Improves your overall operational efficiencies due to reduction in injuries and hazards
  • Improves your overall insurance rating

How do you achieve ISO 45001 Certification?

  1. Gap Analysis (optional): The process begins with an optional gap analysis to evaluate your OH&S system against each clause of ISO 45001.
  2. Stage One: The mandatory first step is an assessment of your management system documentation to evaluate it against the standard, including policies, processes, management review records, scope and context. It sets the basis for Stage Two.
  3. Stage Two: The stage two assessment is the final step of the initial certification process. To achieve certification, we need to check that the documented requirements of the standard are implemented across the business. We visit your offices and sites, as well discuss your system with relevant people in your business.
  4. Certification: Once your stage two assessment is verified and the process is complete, a ‘Statement of Certification’ is issued, confirming compliance with the relevant standard. This certification is valid for a three-year period from the date of issue.

Surveillance assessments will need to be performed on a regular basis to maintain your certification.
Contact Us with any questions you may have, or to find out more about the certification process.

What is the latest version of ISO 45001?

ISO 45001 is the new internationally recognized Occupational Health & Safety standard. ISO 45001 is newly released and will replace AS/NZS 4801 and OHSAS 18001, as these standards will be withdrawn over the next three years.
ISO 45001 outlines the requirements of an OH&S management system to ensure worker safety and provide a safe work environment. They are influential indicators that an organization has measures in place to reduce workplace injury and illness.

How long does it take to implement ISO 45001?

The durations for implementing ISO 45001 will vary from company to company based on the variability of the appetite for change, the level of buy-in and the positive culture. However, company size is a big influence. Some standard practices are:

  • Small organizatons – up to 150 staff – 3-6 months
  • Medium organizations – up to 1000 staff – 8-12 months
  • Large organizations – more than 1000 staff – 12-18 months