Transition to ISO 9001:2015 & ISO 14001:2015 Requirements

ISO 9001 & ISO 14001 have recently been revised with a new structure, new numbering system. There are some new requirements and the removal of some previous requirements.

The revised 2015 standards have now been released September 2015.

There will be a three-year transition period (all currently certified clients must comply with the revised requirements by 1st of September 2018).

What are the main changes?

ISO 9001:

1. Simplified language to establish consistent interpretations of the standard requirements

2. High level structure to standardise sub clause titles, text and common terms and definition – aligns with other ISO management system standards

3. Less emphasis on documentation

4. Increased emphasis on organisation context/scope and requirements around risk-based thinking.

ISO 14001:

1. Focus on incorporating environment into the core business

2. Understanding the context and interested parties

3. Managing environmental impacts on the organisation and the organisations impacts on the environment.

4. Greater focus to include environmental requirements in the design, development, delivery use and end of life treatment to products and services

5. Emphasis on improving environmental performance

What the certified organisation needs to do:

1. Identify organizational gaps which need to be addressed

2. Develop an implementation plan

3. Provide appropriate training to applicable personnel

4. Update the management system to meet revised requirements

What the registered/allocated Lead Auditor needs to do:

1. Complete suitable transition training to the revised standards through a registered training organisation which includes an evaluation.

Sustainable Certification Requirements for existing certified clients:

1. At the next auditensure a transition plan is developed& in place

2. Next audit will include summary in audit report on the progress towards the transition

3. When it is confirmed you are ready to transition to the 2015 standard a Triennial/Re-Certification will be conducted.

4. ISO 9001: 2008 and ISO 14001: 2004 certificates issued from this point will have an expiry of 31-08-2018

5. All clients expected to be transitioned by 31st of August 2018 – there will be no extensions granted past this date.

6. Between now and 31-08-2017 onlyobservations will be made against the gaps to the revised standards. From 31-8-2017 any gaps identified will be raised as a minor NC to ensure adequate time to address and comply with 2015 requirements.

7. All NC’s must be effectively addressed and closed prior to the 31st of August 2018. There will be no extensions from this date.

8. If an organisation does not meet the transition requirements by the due date (31st of August 2018), their certification will be cancelled and removed from the SC and JAS-ANZ Certificate Register and will need to reapply.

9. SC will be ready to take applications to the 2015 standards from 1st of December 2015

Requirements for new applications:

1. Sustainable Certification will stop taking applications to previous revisions of the standards by 31st of March 2017.

Chief Executive Officer
Sustainable Certification™ Pty Ltd
April 2016

To find out more give us a call on 1800 024 940

Other Policies